0126 Joe Trigg new mug.jpg

Joe Trigg 

GLASGOW – Local resident and city councilman Joe Trigg decided Tuesday just under the filing-deadline wire to move forward with his desire to run for Kentucky commissioner of agriculture.

Trigg had also considered running for governor but ultimately determined that ag commissioner would be the better option at this time, he said.

“I had received enough positive feedback to take a chance on either office,” said Trigg, a Democrat.

One factor helping his decision was the already-crowded field in the gubernatorial race – four Republicans, including the incumbent Gov. Matt Bevin, and four Democrats. He said he felt that would make that race “more about money.”

Trigg, a Glasgow native, has been an owner involved with farming enterprises in Barren County for decades, so agriculture is far from an incidental thought.

He worked on a factory production line and did tobacco contract labor in his “early employment,” and he later founded Trigg Enterprises Inc. The 60-year-old says on his website he has 30-plus years' experience as a commercial black Angus cow/calf breeder and producing mixed hay. Also just more than 30 years ago, be became a greenhouse innovator and manager, using hydroponic/aquaponic gardening and conducting research along the way.

The Glasgow Daily Times asked why he believed he would be a good fit for the statewide office.

Overall he wants “to revive agriculture in this state,” he said, and that would include finding ways to help producers of hemp and medical marijuana.

“That's the main reason – and to try to look at a way to save small farms,” Trigg said. “We need somebody to speak for the small farmer and advocate for the small farmer.”

Trigg had previously served one two-year term on Glasgow Common Council, but ran for election to the 23rd District Kentucky House of Representative seat when it was vacated by Johnny Bell. Trigg was defeated in the primary, and the race was ultimately won by Republican Steve Riley, who just won re-election last year.

Meanwhile, Trigg successfully ran to get back on the city council.

Going into Tuesday, the last day to file for this year's elections, Republicans Ryan Quarles of Georgetown, the incumbent, and Bill Polyniak of Lexington were the only candidates who had formally put their names in the hat.

The deadline to file was 4 p.m. local time, and Trigg said a few others were in the secretary of state's office ready to add their names to the mix for ag commissioner – dependent upon who or how many others did the same. By the day's end, Trigg and Robert Haley Conway of Georgetown, another Democrat, were the only two new additions.

According to biographical information on his website – joetrigg.com – Trigg has a bachelor's degree in computer science and associate's degree in explosive ordnance disposal, and he is a frequent guest speaker at local schools and has served on multiple boards.

Trigg was also in the Air Force for roughly 30 years, retiring as a chief master sergeant. He is a lifetime member of Disabled American Veterans, and he describes himself as a “proven combat and peacetime leader.”

A lengthier biographical narrative and other information are also available at the site.

Most of the elections in 2019 are the statewide races, but a few special elections around the commonwealth will also take place this year, with one of those being for the 3rd District Kentucky Court of Appeals seat. The 3rd District is composed of 27 counties that include Metcalfe and Monroe.

Michael O. Caperton of London and Jacqueline M. Caldwell of Cox's Creek have filed to fill that seat.

The other statewide office filings appearing on the secretary of state's website after Tuesday's deadline are as follow:

Governor/ lieutenant governor

D – Rocky Adkins of Sandy Hook/ Stephanie Horne of Prospect

D – Andy Beshear of Louisville/ Jacqueline Coleman of Harrodsburg

D – Adam H. Edelen of Lexington/ Gill Holland of Louisville

D – Geoffrey M. “Geoff” Young of Lexington/ Joshua N. “Josh” French of Elizabethtown

R – Matthew G. Bevin* of Louisville/ Ralph A. Alvarado of Winchester

R – Robert Goforth of East Bernstadt/ Michael T. Hogan of Louisa

R – Ike Lawrence of Lexington/ James Anthony Rose of Lexington

R – William E. Woods of Corinth/ Justin B. Miller of Florence

Attorney general

D – Gregory D. Stumbo of Prestonsburg

R – Daniel Cameron of Louisville

R – Wil Schroder of Wilder

Secretary of state

D – Jason S. Belcher of Harold

D – Jason Griffith of Whitesburg

D – Heather French Henry of Louisville

D – Geoff Sebesta of Lexington

R – Michael G. Adams of Lyndon

R – Andrew English of Crestwood

R – Stephen L. Knipper of Independence

R – Carl “Trump” Nett of Louisville

Auditor of public accounts

D – Kelsey Hayes Coots of Louisville

D – Drew Curtis of Lexington

D – Sheri Donahue of Louisville

D – Chris Tobe of Anchorage

R – Mike Harmon* of Danville

State treasurer

D – Michael Bowman of Louisville

D – Josh Mers of Lexington

R – Allison Ball* of Prestonsburg