GLASGOW— Two area high school students have received the McDonald's Black History Makers of Tomorrow scholarships. 

Monique Williams, a senior at Glasgow High School, and M'Kyia Davis, a senior at Barren County High School, are two among 12 high school students from across the state to share in $18,000 in scholarship awards.

Each of the students received $1,500 scholarships.

“I'm really excited about it. I didn't expect it,” Williams said. “Whenever I applied they said they would be letting us know the next week, so I was like 'Hmm, that's really soon. I wonder what the probability of me getting it is,' and then I saw it pop across my phone, like the email, and I was just like super excited to be able to have it.”

Williams plans to attend the University of Louisville as an Honors College Student and study prelaw.

Davis also plans to attend the University of Louisville as an Honors College Student. She plans to major in biology.

“I'm just excited to see what opportunities I'll get to have,” she said.

The scholarship recipients will be recognized during a ceremony on Wednesday at the Kentucky Center for African American Heritage in Louisville.

The McDonald's Black History Makers of Tomorrow program honors outstanding Kentuckiana High School seniors who demonstrate exceptional leadership, character, scholarship and community service, said a McDonald's press release.

This marks the 16th annual event and the first time McDonald's is awarding a dozen students college scholarships.

Others in addition to Davis and Williams who received the scholarship across the Kentuckiana region are: Teresia Buissereth, North Hardin High School, Radcliff; Brandon Davis, Silver Creek High School, Sellersburg, IN; Alyssia Leach, duPont Manual High School, Louisville; Trinity Olmstead, Ballard High School, Louisville; Kendra Ray, Jeffersonville High School, Jeffersonville, IN; Allison Reed, South Oldham High School, Crestwood; Gordon Rowe III, Ballard High School, Louisville; Ragan Savage, Atherton High School, Louisville; Jasmine Simmons, Eastern High School, New Pekin, IN; and Jojo Spio, Jeffersonville High School, Jeffersonville, IN, the press release said.