Glasgow Daily Times, Glasgow, KY

February 25, 2011

Allen receives ag award

Glasgow Daily Times

GLASGOW — A Barren County man has been recognized by the Governor’s Office of Agricultural Policy for his work as an outstanding agriculture leader.

Neil Allen, chairman of the Barren County Agricultural Development Council, was one of seven people who received the award. They were recognized for the roles they have played over the past two years in helping to continue the initiatives of the Kentucky Agricultural Development Fund, according to a press release form the Governor’s Office of Agricultural Policy.

“I appreciate getting the award,” Allen said. “I was just proud to receive it.”

Allen along with other members of the Barren County Agricultural Development Council are responsible for distributing tobacco settlement funds.

“Each county has a council that distributes the funds the state receives from the tobacco settlement and we distribute the money out to the people who apply for it,” he said.

Others who received the same award as Allen are: Steve Bach, Bath County; David Kash, Wolfe County; Rob McClanahan, Pendleton County; Eddie Warren, Madison County; Kelly Flanders, LaRue County; and E.T. Pendley, Muhlenburg County, according to the release.

The awards were presented during the Governor’s Office of Agricultural Policy Conference earlier this month.

Other awards presented during the conference were: Clint Hardy, extension agent for agriculture and national resources in Daviess County, Outstanding Cooperative Extension Agent; Stacy Marksberry, Green River Area Beef Improvement Group, Outstanding Program Administrator; Marksbury Farm Market, Innovations in Agriculture, individual; Kentucky Proud Program, Innovations in Agriculture, group; Melissa Lipps, DVM, KAFC Distinguished Agriculture Entrepreneur; Mike Entrepreneur, Indepen-dence Bank, Daviess County, KAFC Distinguished Agriculture Leader; University of Kentucky  Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering, Excellence in Energy; and Tim Hughes, Department of Energy Development and Independence Biofuels Division Director, Excellence in Energy.